Who will win MLB’s awards this year?


Bill Selak

Tre Sangiacomo, Sports Editor

With the 2020 shortened MLB season coming to an end, this is where many teams will try to prevail and make the playoffs in pursuit of the World Series. As well as many awards being handed out such as MVP, Cy Young, and many others, let’s dive in and make some awards predictions from the 2020 MLB season. 

Let’s start with the awards predictions, one thing to consider is that this is not like the NFL or the NBA where there is one MVP, one Rookie of the Year, and so on. It is based off of the league so there are two MVPs, two Rookies of the Year, and so on. 

We will start off in the American League awards. 

The 2020 AL Rookie of the Year will be Chicago White Sox centerfielder, Luis Robert. Having one of the hottest bats in baseball, amazing defense, and current team success with the White Sox, this will be a close one but the edge will go to Robert, with runner up going to Seattle Mariners outfielder Kyle Lewis, who is also having a great rookie campaign in this shortened season, but lacks the defense and team success of Robert. 

Manager of the Year is given out to the manager who has the best season, whether it is based off of record, the manager has a great first year, etc.  That being said, the 2020 American League Manager of the year will go to White Sox skipper, Rick Renteria. This should be a no -brainer pick, as Renteria has led the White Sox to one of the best records in baseball and a playoff berth for the first time in 12 years. 

The Cy Young award is given out to the best pitcher in each league, and this year the American League Cy Young award winner will go to Cleveland Indians starting pitcher Shane Beiber. Having a breakout year, Beiber is currently posting a 1.74 earned run average, which is best in baseball, from start to finish Bieber has been one of the top pitchers in baseball and that is why he will win the American League Cy Young. 

The MVP award is the goal for every player in baseball to try and win outside of the World Series. It is given to the best player in baseball and will be given out to the first baseman for the White Sox, Jose Abreu. This will be his first MVP of his career and is well deserved. Leading the White Sox stellar offensive firepower, Abreu is second in On Base Plus Slugging, which is currently at 1.032, and is only .001 behind New York Yankees second baseman D.J LeMahieu. Abreu is also second in home runs, with 18, and is leading baseball in Runs Batted In with 53 currently. Given these, Abreu will be the 2020 American League MVP. 

Now onto the National League side of the awards

Staying in the same order, the National League Rookie of the Year will go to San Diego Padres second baseman Jake Cronenworth. This shouldn’t even be a debate, with the Padres having a breakout year, as well as Cronenworth having an incredible year at the plate. It would be tough to argue against Cronenworth. 

Moving forward to Manager of the Year in the National League, Miami Marlins manager Don Mattingly will be taking home this award. Miami went from a team that did not even win 60 games last season to a now playoff team. After everything that Miami went through with the COVID outbreak, to calling up 17 minor leaguers to play and now a playoff berth for the first time since 2003. Mattingly has done a great job leading the charge for Miami. 

Next up we have the National League Cy Young award. The winner of this award will be starting pitcher from the Cincinnati Reds, Trevor Bauer. Bauer has lot of the league from opening day to the last day of the season. A very close runner up will be Chicago Cubs pitcher Yu Darvish. Who also has been very dominant but had a couple of bumps in the road unlike Bauer. 

Finally, the MVP from the National League will be Atlanta Braves first baseman Freddie Freeman. Freeman has lead the charge for Atlanta, with an amazing bat in the shortened season, having a great glove over at first base while also lowering his strikeout percentage. All of this while leading Atlanta to the second seed for the National League playoffs.